Research Team

Dr James W. Mitchell

Lead Researcher

James Mitchell is an Association of British Neurologists (ABN) Clinical Training Research Fellow and neurology registrar at The Walton Centre NHS FT and University of Liverpool.  His primary research interest is outcome measurement in epilepsy research and clinical practice. 

Dr Adam Noble

Adam Noble is a Senior Lecturer in health services research based at the University of Liverpool. He uses mixed-methods research to identify the psychological and social difficulties of those with neurological conditions and their families,  explore the causes of these problems, and translate these findings into improved care by developing and testing interventions.

Professor Paula Williamson

Paula Williamson is Professor of Medical Statistics at the University of Liverpool. She leads the MRC/NIHR Trials Methodology Research Partnership and has co-founded and led the COMET (Core Outcome Measures in Effectiveness Trials) Initiative since 2010.

Professor Tony Marson

Tony Marson is a consultant neurologist and epileptologist at The Walton Centre and Professor of Neurology at The University of Liverpool.  He has coordinated the largest randomised controlled trials in epilepsy, and is chief investigator of the recently completed NIHR HTA trial of Standard and New Antiepileptic drugs II (SANAD II), and is the Coordinating Editor of the Cochrane Epilepsy Group.

EPSET Project International Working Group

Professor Gus Baker

Professor Emeritus of Clinical Neuropsychology, University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK and Secretary General at International Bureau for Epilepsy, Dublin, Ireland

Ms Rachel Batchelor

Research Assistant and Patient Representative member, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, England

Dr Francesco Brigo

Consultant Neurologist, Department of Neurology, Hospital of Merano (SABES-ASDAA), Merano-Meran, Italy

Dr Jakob Christensen

Associate Professor of Neurology, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark

Professor Jacqueline French

Professor of Neurology, NYU Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, New York, USA

Dr Antonio Gil-Nagel

Director of Epilepsy Programme, Department of Neurology, Hospital Ruber Internacional, Madrid,  Spain

Professor Alla Guekht

Professor of Neurology, Russian National Research Medical University and Director of Moscow Research and Clinical Center for Neuropsychiatry, Russia

Professor Nathalie Jette

Professor of Neurology, Population Health Science and Policy,  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, USA

Professor Reetta Kälviäinen 

Professor of Neurology, University of Eastern Finland and Kuopio Epilepsy Center, Kuopio University Hospital, Kuopio, Finland

Professor John Paul Leach

Professor of Clinical Neurology, School of Medicine, Dentistry & Nursing, University of Glasgow, UK

Dr Melissa Maguire

Honorary Clinical Associate Professor, Leeds Institute of Medical Research, University of Leeds , Leeds, UK

Professor Terence O’Brien

Professor of Neurology and Clinical Pharmacology, Central Clinical School, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia. 

Professor Felix Rosenow  

Professor of Epilepsy and Director of the Epilepsy Center Frankfurt-Rhine-Main, University Hospital Frankfurt, Goethe-University, Frankfurt, Germany

Professor Philippe Ryvlin

Professor of Neurology, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, Lausanne, Switzerland.

Mr Phil Tittensor

Consultant Nurse for the Epilepsies, The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust and Honorary Lecturer, University of Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton, UK.

Professor Eugen Trinka

Professor of Neurology, Department of Neurology, Christian Doppler University Hospital, Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria

Professor Manjari Tripathi 

Professor of Neurology, Department of Neurology, Neurosciences Centre, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India.

Professor Samuel Wiebe

Professor of Neurology, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary, Calgary, Canada. 

Dr Abbie Fearon

Patient representative member

We would like to thank the following professional and patient organisations who kindly facilitated dissemination of the EPSET Project surveys, and contributed to ensuring this COS is as representative as possible of the international perspective